Canada restricts poultry imports from 21 US states

Source:  Poultry World

Canada has restricted imports of all poultry, eggs and bird products from 21 US states until further notice.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency has reportedly implemented these measures in an effort to protect Canada’s poultry resources from outbreaks of highly pathogenic avian influenza.

The restricted states are Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

In addition, all poultry products and by-products that are not fully cooked and canned or hermetically sealed are prohibited.

People may not bring any of the prohibited items into Canada, including eggs and raw pet foods, sourced, processed, or packaged from the restricted zones. If the product is not labelled with the state of origin by the manufacturer, the product may be denied entry.

Live pet birds may be brought into Canada with official certification from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

In July, the USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) confirmed an highly pathogenic avian influenza outbreak in a non-commercial backyard flock in Carson City, Nevada. The affected facility was quarantined and the birds on the property depopulated.

According to the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the public health risk associated with these avian influenza detections in birds remains low.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Got additional questions?
We will be happy to assist!

What You Need to Know about Black Sea Region.

The latest on what’s moving agro markets, in your inbox